President Duterte signed Republic Act 11243, or An Act Reapportioning the First Legislative District of the Province of South Cotabato, thereby creating the Lone Legislative District of General Santos City.

General Santos City, an independent and highly-urbanized locality, is presently part of the South Cotabato’s first district.

With the signing of the law, the city will now be separated from the province’ first district and become its third legislative district.

Under the new law, the legislative districts of the province shall now be composed of:

First Legislative District:

Second Legislative District:
-Koronadal City
-Lake Sebu
-Santo Niño

Third District Legislative District:
-General Santos City

To recall, Senator Manny Pacquiao, a native of General Santos City, run for Congressman , in the 2007 election, aiming to represent the First District but lost to Rep. Darlene Antonino-Custodio.  

~ StareDecisis

Photo Credit: GMA Network